Department of Energy Announces Equity in Energy Ambassadors and Champions – Leaders back diversity and access for all in the energy sector

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announced the first slate of Equity in Energy Ambassadors and Champions, a key feature of the agency’s push for an energy economy for everyone.

The Ambassadors are high-profile individuals from academia, energy companies, and community organizations, who will be sharing updates about Equity in Energy with their networks, attending Equity in Energy events, and speaking out about the importance of diversity in energy. Champions are U.S. Department of Energy leaders who are tasked with evaluating their portfolios to ensure every possible measure is being taken for outreach, support, and full accessibility for all.

“We are a world energy leader, and we must include and expand the participation of underserved communities across the energy landscape,” said Secretary Dan Brouillette. “Equity in Energy’s Ambassadors and Champions can open the door to a future that is filled with opportunity and promise.”

The Office of Economic Impact and Diversity developed the Equity in Energy initiative to expand minorities, women, veteran, and formerly incarcerated persons participation rate in energy jobs, energy procurements, and energy accessibility. In these commonly underserved communities, links are often missing to information about engaging in the energy economy and resources to get affordable access to energy.

“America’s energy landscape is continuing to change, and so is its demographic makeup,” said James Campos, Director of the Office of Economic Impact and Diversity. “Our Ambassadors and Champions know that a diverse approach is critical to success, and the demand for energy workers will be challenging to meet if the workforce does not reflect the diversity of the population.”

Selections of the Ambassadors and Champions were made by the Office of Economic Impact and Diversity for two-year terms. Ambassadors represent a broad cohort of the energy sector and communities that the Equity in Energy Initiative seeks to reach, and work in fields connected to the Initiative’s focal areas of STEM enhancement, technical assistance, supplier diversity, energy affordability, and workforce development.

Equity in Energy Ambassadors

  • Dr. Roslyn Artis, President, Benedict College
  • Julian Canete, Chairman, California Hispanic Chambers of Commerce
  • Gary ‘Litefoot’ Davis, Executive Director, Native American Financial Services Association
  • Emily M. Dickens, J.D. Corporate Secretary, Chief of Staff, and Head, Government Affairs, Society for Human Resource Management
  • Thomas Dortch, Chairman, 100 Black Men of America
  • Dr. Antonio R. Flores, President, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities
  • Robert W. Gee, President & Board Member, Asian Americans in Energy, the Environment and Commerce
  • Dr. Pandwe Gibson, President and Founder, EcoTech Visions
  • Michelle L. Holiday, President, Michelle Holiday & Associates
  • Abigail Ross Hopper, President and CEO, Solar Energy Industries Association
  • Bill Koetzle, Senior Vice President of Government Affairs, American Petroleum Institute
  • Anthony Livanios, Founder, U.S. Energy Stream
  • Janette Marx, CEO, Airswift
  • Katie Mehnert, CEO, Pink Petro and Experience Energy
  • José Pérez, President & CEO, Hispanics in Energy
  • Gil C. Quiniones, President and CEO, New York Power Authority
  • J. Michael Treviño, Principal, Treviño & Company
  • Brian L. Wolff, Executive Vice President, Public Policy and External Affairs, Edison Electric Institute
  • Andrea Korney, Vice President of Sustainability, Frostbyte Consulting

Equity in Energy Champions

  • Nick Andersen, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Security and Energy Restoration, Office of Cybersecurity, Energy Security, and Emergency Response
  • Dr. Rita Baranwal, Assistant Secretary, Office of Nuclear Energy
  • Dr. Chris Fall, Director, Office of Science
  • Kevin R. Frost, Director, Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs
  • Cheryl Ingstad, Director, Office of Artificial Intelligence
  • Conner Prochaska, Chief Commercialization Officer, Office of Technology Transitions
  • Daniel R. Simmons, Assistant Secretary, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
  • Charles R. Smith, Director, Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization
  • Steven Winberg, Assistant Secretary, Office of Fossil Energy

Additional information about the Equity in Energy initiative can be found at

Download the Equity of Energy Booklet here


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap